Please find below a table which explains the points system at Bury College University Centre. The table shows the points that you will earn for each grade you achieve:

Grade A Levels AS Levels BTEC Level 3 Diploma BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma T Levels
A* 56 - D*D104 D*D* 112 D*D*D* 168 D* 168
A 48 20 D*D 104 D*D*D 160 D 144
B 40 16 DD 96 D*DD 152 M 120
C 32 12 DM 80 DMM 112 Pass (C or above on the core) 96
D 24 10 MP 48 MPP 64 Pass (D or E on the core) 72
E 16 6 PP 3 PPP 48  


D = Distinction     M = Merit     P = Pass

Points breakdown:

For example 112 points can be achieved either from A-level grades BBC or BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma grades DMM. Where course entry requirements state ‘64 points from at least one but preferably two A-levels’ this means you are not able to apply for this qualification using only AS grades.

Please note if you do not have these formal qualifications you are welcome to apply, as other qualifications, experience and personal qualities can be taken into account.

If English is not your first language you will also need IELTS 6.0.

Please visit for full information on all qualifications included in the UCAS tariff.